
Major Rule Change - No penalty for Moving a Ball 

on the Putting Green 

Rule 13.1d - No Penalty for accidentally moving your ball 

or ball-marker on the putting green. 
 

USGA “Reasons for Change” 

 The shape, slope and condition of many putting greens 

today increases the chances that a ball at rest on the 

putting green might move, and it can be difficult to   

determine if the player or natural causes moved the ball. 

 Most “Ball Move” situations occur on the putting 

green and involve minimal movement. 

 When a ball moves while a player is doing nothing more 

than taking normal actions to prepare for a 

stroke, it can seem unfair for the player to be     

penalized. 

Each of these rules changes will take effect on January 1, 2019.  

Our hope is to make as many golfers knowledgeable of the  

upcoming rules changes before the  new year.  

Good Luck & Play Well! 

Click here to watch the USGA 

Video Explanation of Rule 13.1d 

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rules-modernization/major-changes/no-penalty-for-moving-a-ball-on-the-putting-green.html
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